Gold Club Asia Forums

Go Back   Gold Club Asia Forums > Gold Club Asia > General Discussions

Old 13-08-2007, 11:20 PM
寨主

Default Why is Singapore the BEST place to stay to survive Peak Oil?

I meet a lot of people who ask me why I came to Singapore. My standard answer is for tax planning purpose.

In reality, I migrated to Singapore 4 years ago because of the implication of Peak Oil. You can find out more about Peak Oil in the energy folder.

Of course you would be wondering why Singapore is the chosen place for me to get rich when the world is running out of CHEAP energy.

Here is the reason:

Let me explain:

1. to do well when cheap energy is running out for the mankind as a whole, you need to be militarily strong AND financially rich to get what you need, preferably by trade.

2. to do well when overall economy becomes unstable, you need have a strong leadership with longterm vision for it's people. And the people have to have the blind trust in the leadership's ability to guide them.

3. to do well in a global crisis like Peak Oil, you have to attract global capital flow, not enforce exchange restrictions. A strong local currency is mandatory.

4. Peak Oil is like the wolf at the door, it does not eat up everyone in the house, only the weak and slow. Singapore is a tiny city state, but it is strong and nimble. It will out run many other competitors. This place will emerge as one of the few gainers from Peak Oil over the next 20 years.

5. Last but not least, due to climate change, the place has to be physically safe from natural disasters and experience minimal temperature changes. The effect of global warming is strongest on the poles and weakest around equator.

There are many other reasons like my own skin colour, good education system, best public transportation network of the world, low taxation and cultural diversity etc. But the reasons above are the main points.